Sunny Barcelona

Barcelona (Spain), 27.11.2013

Spain welcomed me with one of its more beautiful sides. As I left my hotel in the morning, bright sunshine welcomed me, it was a fresh clear day. I strolled through the Gótico and Born districts to a café I like to go to in Barcelona, where I had a long breakfast, chilling, reading, writing, and preparing my time in town.

DSC_0020 DSC_0018By coincidence during my two days in the city there was an event I attended, that for me was also a first contact with my former world of business after months on the road. As I listened to pitches, round tables and presentations, met new people form all over Europe and beyond that came here to either fund or found their businesses, a lot of memories of the start-up life before this journey came up again. At some point all the action became too much for me and I had to take a break, walk through the old part of town.

DSC_0017 DSC_0006I strolled through the Mercado de la Boquería (video here), the narrow dark streets of the Gótico, spent time in cafés. And late at night did a stop at la Paradeta to enjoy some fresh seafood. I had dreamt about this so often during this journey, especially during the long weeks in mutton-loving countries. What a delight! And a delicious cocktail in a no name bar in a small side street close to the hotel rounded up the night. It was a pleasure to come back to this cool, international, sunny town – as it has always been since the first time my father brought me here 25 years ago.

DSC_0010 DSC_0013 DSC_0015

No trip data these days

Leave a Reply

